COLUMBIA COUNTY AND PRESIDENTIAL ELECTIONS: 1904 – 2004

By George A. Turner

Columbia County citizens on November 2, 2004, in the presidential election cast 26,622 votes for the two major party candidate, Senator John Kerry and President George W. Bush, and 137 votes for the three third party candidates for a total vote of 26,759. This was the county's largest presidential vote with 4, 865 more people voting than in the 2000 election.

The chart below has the results of how Columbia County voted in the last twenty-six presidential elections from 1904 to 2004. It lists the percent of votes presidential elections from 1904 to 2004. It lists the percent of votes won by the Democratic and Republican candidates and the combined votes for third party candidates in the "other" column to the far right. The candidate that received the largest number of county votes in each presidential election is in bold print, and the candidates who were elected President have a star in front of their names.

Democratic candidates elected President have only carried Columbia County nine times while Republicans have won the county fourteen times. Ross Perot, third party candidate in the 1996 election, pulled enough votes away from Republican Robert Dole that enabled President Clinton to win a plurality victory in the county. The only other third party candidate who garnered a large vote was Theodore Roosevelt, who ran on the Bull Moose ticket in 1912. Ten out of eleven elections from 1904 to 1944 were won by Democrats. However, a significant change has occurred since 1948. Columbia County has gone Republican twelve times out of the last fifteen presidential elections.

YEAR	DEMOCRAT		REPUBLICAN		OTHER
	Name	Vote Percent	Name	Vote Percent	Vote Percent
2004	John Kerry	39.8	★George W. Bush	59.7	0.5
2000	Albert Gore	40.9	★George W Bush	55.2	3.9
1996	★William J. Clinton	41	Robert Dole	40.2	18.8
1992	★William J. Clinton	33	George H. Bush	38.9	28.1
1988	Michael S, Dukakis	38.8	★George H. Bush	60.5	0.7
1984	Walter F. Mondale	36.3	★Ronald Reagan	63.4	0.3
1980	Jimmy Carter	40.5	★Ronald Reagan	53.2	6.3
1976	★Jimmy Carter	50.4	Gerald Ford	48.1	1.5
1972	George McGovern	32.4	* Richard Nixion	63.6	4
1968	Hubert H. Humphrey	36.8	* Richard Nixion	54.9	8.3
1964	★Lyndon B. Johnson	60.6	Barry M. Goldwater	39.2	0.2
1960	★John F. Kennedy	37.8	Richard Nixon	62.1	0.1
1956	Adlai E. Stevenson	40.2	★Dwight Eisenhower	59.7	0.1
1952	Adlai E. Stevenson	42	★Dwight Eisenhower	57.7	0.3
1948	★Harry Truman	49.7	Thomas E. Dewey	50	0.3
1944	★Franklin D. Roosevelt	50.6	Thomas E. Dewey	49	0.4
1940	★Franklin D. Roosevelt	56.6	Wendell Willkie	43	0.4
1936	★Franklin D. Roosevelt	58.8	Alf M. Landon	40.7	0.5
1932	★Franklin D. Roosevelt	53.8	Herbert Hoover	44.4	1.8
1928	Alfred E. Smith	26.8	★Herbert Hoover	72.7	0.6
1924	John W. Davis	48.5	★Calvin Coolidge	47.9	3.6
1920	James M. Cox	51	★Warren G. Harding	45.7	3.3
1916	★Woodrow Wilson	63.1	Charles E. Hughes	32.7	4.2
1912	★Woodrow Wilson	55.1	William H. Taft	10	34.9
1908	William J. Byran	57.1	★William H. Taft	39.6	3.3
1904	Alton B. Parker	51.3	★Theodore Roosevelt	44.5	4.2