History Society is Organized in Columbia County

Columbia County Historical Society Will Study Local History Supt. Evans President Dr. S. P. Heilman, State Secretary, Gives Address on Work

We've had articles in the newsletter recently on how we got where we are at the Society. We who work/volunteer there most days are still in awe as we look around at the beautiful new location we call home. Thank you to Steve Smith for bringing this article from the May 11, 1914 Morning Press to our attention about our very first beginnings. ~Ed.

The first step toward the permanent preservation of the history of Columbia County was taken Saturday afternoon in the formal organization of the Columbia County Historical Society, with the adoption of a constitution and the election of officers. Application for a charter will be made at the September term of court, and the work of the society will begin at once.

James C. Brown presided at the meeting in court room No. 2, called after months of work by the women of the Fort McClure Chapter, D. A. R., through whom the organization of the historical society was brought about. Dr. S. P. Heilman, secretary of the Pennsylvania State Federation of Historical Societies, made the address of the afternoon telling his own experiences after sixteen years in the work of historical societies, and offering suggestions for the member of the local society.

Prof. D. S. Hartline's motion, seconded by Supt. W. W. Evans, thanking Dr. Heilman for his interest in the local work was unanimously carried.

The constitution and by-laws suggested by the members of Fort McClure Chapter were read by Mr. Brown, and were adopted. There was considerable discussion of the time for the meetings of the society. The third Saturday of September, December, March and June were finally selected for the quarterly meetings, on motion of A. W. Duy, seconded by Mrs. C. A. Caswell. The annual meeting, at which officers will be elected, will be held each September. The officers under the constitution will include a president, two vice presidents, treasurer, secretary and librarian. There is an executive committee of nine members.

George Parke, representing J. H. Beers and Company, publishers, who is preparing the history of the county which the firm will publish within a short time, made a short address, in which he told of his own work in the county. He offered the society a number of photographs, which he has made, and material which he has collected as well as a copy of his history. Miss Sarah Van Tassel, Mrs. C. W. Funston and Mrs. M. E. Ent also spoke.

The following officers, reported by the nominating committee, were unanimously elected: President, W. W. Evans; vice presidents, Charles E. Randall, Catawissa; John W. Evans,

Berwick; secretary, Miss Elizabeth Lowe, Lime Ridge; treasurer, John W. Shuman, Bloomsburg; librarian, Miss Martha L. Caldwell, Bloomsburg. The executive committee consists of Clinton Herring, Orangeville; Miss Myra Eves, Millville; Mrs. I. R. Wolf, Espy; Miss Mae McHenry, Stillwater; R. W. Smith, Mifflinville; W. M. Longenberger, Mainville; Prof. L. P. Sterner, Bloomsburg; John M. Aikman, Cabin Run; Miss Sarah M. Hagenbuch, Briar Creek.

Supt. Evans, the newly elected president, made a short speech, expressing his appreciation of the honor of being the first president of the society. He pointed out that what is done in the county today will be of great interest to Columbia Countians of the future as the county's past is to those of today.

Twenty-five signed the constitution of the new society, a number of those who attended the meeting having been forced to leave before its conclusion. Applications for membership which is open to anyone interested in local history, will be received by Miss Sarah Van Tassel, for the present. The society desires as large a charter membership as is possible.

First members of the society are: Mr. and Mrs. A. W. Duy, Mrs. M. A. John, Mrs. M. E. Ent, Prof. and Mrs. D. S. Hartline, Mrs. C. A. Caswell, Miss Anna Leverett, Miss Helen Chrisman, Mrs. Paul E. Wirt, Mrs. H. Mont Smith, Mrs. J. W. Bruner, Mrs. A. Z. Schouh, Mrs. Elizabeth Reber, Miss Amelia Armstrong, G. E. Elwell, Prof. L. P. Sterner, Mrs. Reber Mears, Miss Alexander, Berwick; George Park, Dr. T. C. Harter, Mrs. J. S. John, Miss Ella G. Stewart, Orangeville; Mrs. Mary Leverett, Mrs. H. H. Grotz, Mrs. James Schuyler, Mrs. Charles W. Funston, Miss Sarah Van Tassel, Wm. W. Evans, Miss Myra M. Eves, Millville; H. H. Brown, Light Street; Mrs. H. A. McKillip, Miss Martha Caldwell, Miss Clara A. Deiffenbach, John W. Shuman, J. C. Brown, Miss Sarah W. Hagenbuch, Briar Creek; Miss Elizabeth A. Lowe, Lime Ridge; Dr. S. P. Heilman, Lebanon.

We have a great 110-year history behind us. Here's to many more great years to come!